Tour Dates
Latest News
Song Index
MP3 Page
Sheet Music
Press Kit Online
Folk Alliance
Join Email List
Joel Speaks
Tip Jar
or send    
to Joel


(fossil 1808)
1801 cover.jpg (86106 bytes)
(click the picture for a bigger look)

Released: January 15, 2008  
how to order this cd
(available for download, too)

Recorded in the Fall of 2007, this CD is a new take on a dozen of my earlier songs. 

All the songs on this CD were written and first recorded in the decade of 1987-97. A lot of songs here are much-requested audience favorites. Many of them have changed slightly over the years -- a new line here, a new attitude there.  Some were only available as "live" cuts before.  This is a new "studio" recording, but is straightforward recording: no gimmicks or fancy edits.  Two of the songs, "Hopelessly Midwestern" and "Duct Tape Blues" have monologues embedded -- in the old folk days we called this a "rap."  (That word had different meaning then.)  I had fun giving these songs a new spin in the studio -- I hope you have fun with them on the flip side. 

[Click here to read a review]

    [click on or right-click & save "mp3 sample" to listen 90 seconds at 96kbs]

1 Swing That Thing  [mp3 sample]
2 The Naked Truth    [mp3 sample]
3 Hopelessly Midwestern    [mp3 sample]
4 Holding To The Land    [mp3 sample]
5 Five Kinds of Snow    [mp3 sample]
6 What 'My Doin' Wrong    [mp3 sample]
7 Duct Tape Blues    [mp3 sample]
8 The Preacher & the Flood    [mp3 sample]
9 Guadalupe [mp3 sample]
10 Touch A Name On The Wall    [mp3 sample]
11 Sea of Dreams    [mp3 sample]
12 Lucky, Lucky You    [mp3 sample]

All songs written by Joel Mabus, copyrights 1987-1997
All recordings copyright 2008, Joel Mabus
All Rights Reserved

[click here for lyrics]

[click here for liner notes]

[Click here to read a review]

ordering information

Click here to return to the Recordings Page


2009 Joel Mabus -- All Rights Reserved